By-election to be held in Enfield after councillor departs

A poll will be held in Enfield next month to elect a new ward councillor.

The council has revealed a by-election for the Bush Hill Park ward will take place on Thursday, July 1, after a seat was left vacant following the departure of William Coleshill.

It said the by-election was triggered due to Mr Coleshill’s failure to attend a formal meeting of the council for six months.

Elected as a Conservative councillor for the ward, Mr Coleshill was suspended by the party after being accused of making racist remarks during a council meeting in September 2018. He subsequently served as an independent councillor.

The other seats in the ward are held by Conservative councillors James Hockney and Clare de Silva.

The candidates standing for election in Bush Hill Park on July 1 are:

  • Ade Adetula – Liberal Democrats
  • John Dolan – Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Peter David Fallart – Conservative Party
  • Benjamin Charles Maydon – Green Party
  • Clive Winston Morrison – Taking The Initiative Party
  • Nia Stevens – Labour Party

The upcoming by-election will be the fourth to be held in Enfield so far this year. In May, a by-election in Chase ward saw the Tories gain a seat from Labour. Polls in Jubilee and Southbury wards saw Labour hold on to their seats but with swings towards other parties compared to elections held in 2018.

More information on the upcoming election is available here:

Enfield Independent | News